What it’s Like

I’ve had issues with my ears since I was a baby. I was a chronic ear infection kid, so full of fluid that when I finally got tubes I managed to get an infection behind the tube.
Over the course of the past year I’ve had frequent tinnitis and dizziness coming from my left ear. I leak fluid and for many, many years have suffered headaches that affect the entire left side of my head, neck, and shoulder…
At first I was told the headaches were TMJ, then I was told the fluid leaking was just me having “sweaty ears”…
(I know, wtf?)
So, the other day the dizziness was pretty bad.
It’s not like I can just go to the doctor, no health insurance.
So I went on webmd and typed in my symptoms.
Obviously I’m self-diagnosing,  but for now that’s how it has to be…
Anyway, all signs point to Meniere’s Disease…which in essence is a slow train to permanent hearing loss in my left ear.
It’s not rare by any stretch of the imagination, but it’s not something that can be stopped.
Not sure how I feel about it, I need to do more research.
There are ways to lessen the discomfort and keep the fluid low, (eliminate as much sodium as possible, limit caffeine, take motion sickness pills)…
Nonetheless, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t scared and didn’t wish I had the luxury of health insurance…
Or just my Momma.

One thought on “What it’s Like

Thoughts?

