Too Much

I can always tell when Keylime is either:
A) Not feeling good/tired
B) Had sugar
He gets really, REALLY whiny, cries easily, and has a shorter fuse than normal.
Because it’s lasted for a couple days and he’s still getting over a pretty nasty cold (which just means he’s caught something new-oh joy), I’m going with not feeling so well.
He’s started up the “I don’t love you!” crap again this past week, which usually ends up with me replying “Tell ya what bucky, you go right ahead and feel however it is that you need to feel. Whether or not you love me is of no concern, at this point, the only thing that matters is that I love you, because if I didn’t you’d be screwed.”
He usually shuts up pretty quick after that.
Boo used to say that when he was about 2-3, Keylime (for obvious reasons) has carried it on a bit longer. It used to bug the hell out of my husband, and I think it still does to some degree…I just kinda look at him and say “really? You’re going to let that bother you?”
Honestly, unless I’ve done something to earn the hatred I just shrug it off.  No point feeding the beast.
I’ve gone over the Bach Remedy questionnaire with Boo and discovered that only one of the remedies that I’d picked out for him is actually one he checked. As soon as I get some extra cash I’ll go over to the store and get him the right ones.
He’s feeling really overwhelmed, and I think the idea of college looming in the not-to-distant future freaks him out. He’s all “I’m not ready!”
Well of course not, he’s only 14. He’s a Freshman. However, that doesn’t mean that we shouldn’t at least be talking about it, and narrowing down what he wants to do. I don’t want to burn him out, but I don’t want him to get down to the count and not have the needed credits/classes to get to where he wants.
When it comes to CalArts, it’s all about what’s in the Portfolio…SATs don’t matter until AFTER they’ve looked at the portfolio.
I’ve told him that if that’s where he wants to go I will move heaven and earth to get him prepared, but he’s got to put in the work…
But at the same time, I think I’ve forgotten what it’s like to be 14.
His schedule is pretty packed, I think we were overly enthusiastic about all the cool classes being offered…it’ll ease up a bit next semester when he’s done with health, and next year we’ll plan differently.
So far though the first report card is looking good.  Just gotta work on him not burning out.

One thought on “Too Much

  1. You’re doing a great job, Mom! Keep up the good work. I really am enjoying all these stories. Thanks for sharing ❤

Thoughts?

